Skip to content

Tools of the trade–perspective on significance

July 14, 2009

Well jet lag is a little painful.  Yesterday, Ginnie slept fitfully in the Mennonite guest house, and I slept like a log proudly thinking that I had avoided the jet lag.  Unfortunately today the situations are reversed and Ginnie is soundly asleep, and I’m ready to go to work at 3am Kenyan time (or 8 pm Eastern).  At least it’s a good time to write some pieces for this blog.

This morning I had several thoughts running through my mind, such as where I can get water that’s clean and doesn’t taste like petroleum, is cardiac surgery really a possibility at this hospital?, do I really want to do this? I should be studying for the Step 3 board exam which I take when I return to the states, etc. etc.

Since there are now over 600 hits on this blog in less than 5 days, I think I need to fill in some background since the hundreds of people reading this blog don’t all know me.

This picture I took shows the common tools that I use to both in the US and here in Kenya as a surgical resident.

Tools of the trade

Tools of the trade

On the left you see my surgical cap made in Togo, West Africa on my last surgical mission trip in 2005.  You see my corrective and protective surgical eyewear in the center with my Tenwek pager in the foreground (still can’t believe I have one in Kenya ha, ha).  I tossed in the World Medical Mission hat because that is the amazing administrative organization that arranged my time in Tenwek.  But the most important and underutilized tool is in the right foreground.  Yup, the guidebook for life that I rarely crack to keep myself in line with what I should do versus what I want to do.  All the other things in the picture are really superfluous.  Some people may find that statement offensive, others may think it simplistic or ridiculous, and still others may say there are other “truths” or “realities” in life.  Regardless of what viewpoint you take, I present my own personal belief on the matter which was a matter of personal choice and faith.  This choice is what drives me to pursue surgery or any life choice when things are hard.

My friend, John Cropsey put the whole matter very well in a blog post about Christmas and why it matters in Dec 2008 (see link below).  He clearly spent a great deal of time thinking about these issues.  I only hope that my own heart and selfish desires can be equally relinquished to serve God’s will both here and at home.

“Why Christmas matters” or what I call “the state of our heart”

http://mccropders.blogspot.com/2008/12/why-christmas-matters.html

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Beth permalink
    July 14, 2009 1:25 pm

    Yup, the guidebook for life that I rarely crack to keep myself in line with what I should do versus what I want to do.

    Hmmmmm….don’t identify with that statement at all….or mebbe a little too well. You’re in our prayers.

  2. July 14, 2009 7:08 pm

    Thanks for your honesty and your willingness to share. So glad you guys are there, you can get on-line, and you’re being so welcomed. Pagers on the first day–talk about putting you right to work! 🙂

  3. susan permalink
    July 14, 2009 10:20 pm

    LOVE the Togo surgical cap!

  4. Charity permalink
    July 15, 2009 7:08 am

    So well written, Aaron!

  5. December 11, 2009 11:31 pm

    I’m often searching for new blogposts in the world wide web about this issue. Thanx!

Leave a Reply

