Skip to content

Saturday Week 2–Keiro View

March 24, 2011

Amazing how quickly you can fall behind on things even in this laid back schedule in Kenya. So here’s goes the marathon effort to update the blog. A lot has happened in the past 5 days. Hopefully I can remember it all.

My second Saturday was supposed to be a day of studying…which however turned into a day trip to Iten, Kenya and the High Altitude Training Center (HATC). This is where runners come to train at high altitude and bascially naturally boost their hemogloblin stores by running at over 6000 ft (? on the altitude. The HATC was founded by a Kenyan World Champion runner Lornah Kiplagat in 1999 (see brochure below). The HATC was officially opened in November 2000 by Mr. Kip Keino, another athletic legend from Kenya and member of the olympic committee. When these athletes return to sea level they have more oxygen carrying capacity then a person who trained at sea level. It was great to see the training facility. There were athletes from all over the world here. I tried to take some pictures of some of these athletes, but our yellow speedster car prohibited any really good shots. I have to admit of these athletes are a little too anorexic looking.

We also stopped at Kerio View to look out of the Rift Valley. I seem to have the worst luck when I come to Kenya. I always come during the dry season when the fields are dormant. So unfortunately, while I have a few good pictures of the Rift Valley, the haze and the red earth leave something to be desired.

All in all it was a great day to take a short trip to look down into the Valley. The Rift Valley and the climate in Eldoret are reported to one of the best places to live. I can see why…12 hours of sunshine, moderate temperatures year round. An interesting historical footnote is that in the early twentieth century, there was a proposal to cede some of the Rift Valley to the South to the Jews to form a new Palestine.

On the news front:

My friend Micah is now at home!

Please pray for my dad, he will undergo vascular surgery sometime while I am here. I anticipate it will be fine, but I would appreciate your prayers.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rob Murphy permalink
    March 24, 2011 2:52 pm

    I am so not surprised that you gaffed of study for fun…

    Murph

    • Aaron permalink*
      March 24, 2011 3:15 pm

      I know right…..need to get serious.

Leave a Reply

