Skip to content

Thursday–where I work & live

March 24, 2011

Whew–finally caught up on this blog. All those blog advice sites that say that you drive traffic to your website by regular writing are probably right, but I am happy that the site has almost 4000 hits in the past year. Today was our major ward rounds. The 6th year medical students are doing very well. The fourth year students however are struggling. In the picture to the left, you see Dr. Jumbi trying to help a student with his presentation of a patient.

There were no major emergencies today so I took the opportunity to catch up on a few things (this blog being one of them!). After rounds today, one of the orthopedics residents took me across the river from the hospital where I could take some pictures of the hospital.

The hospital from all the history that I’ve read has really grown over the past decade. I wanted to get a picture of the hospital that showed how large the complex is. You can walk easily from one end to the other, but you can’t appreciate how large it is unless you view it from afar.

The back view of Moi Hospital

In this photo, your are looking at the backside of the hospital grounds which sit on a hill. Unfortunately, I forgot that the camera that I was using is not a full-frame camera, so I actually cut off the AMPATH building in the right side of the picture. The hospital is actually bigger than this photo. Everything in the back half of the photo is the hospital proper and the surrounding grounds. The long orange-roofed structures are the hospital wards and the Riley Mother Baby Hospital. The smaller blue tinted roofs in the mid-ground of the pictures are also part of the hospital. The large multi-story building in the back right of the photo is the back of the storehouse that I posted in one of my initial posts here (10 March). If I had properly shot the photo, you would see the AMPATH building. I should talk more about AMPATH which is a huge component of the HIV funding that has come to Moi, but I think I will hold off for now. It does not directly impact what I do in surgery so I am less familiar with it.

I also ran into town today to get a haircut. While waiting for my friend Javan (remember him–Mr. Kenya) to pick me up, two teenagers serially begged me for money for food. It took quite a while for me to divest myself of these two street kids. The second in particular really tried to pull the strings, telling me in broken Swahili and English, that God would bless me if I helped feed the children and the poor (which he was both). After they decided that I wasn’t an easy mark, they went their separate ways. Or so I thought. I saw that they actually had a perch across the street in front of an unoccupied commercial building. They sat there on the stoop with two teenage girls, a young baby and toddler. With exception of the baby and the toddler, they were inhaling glue fumes from plastic bottles to forget their misery. I can only imagine what other things these street kids have been involved with. I’ll post more hopefully next week about the Tumaini project here which is specifically designed to help these kids.

Well off to bed for now. This final picture is where I blog, study and live in the IU compound. Note the prerequisite mosquito net that is required for any Africa photo.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2011 7:44 pm

    Glad you’re caught up! I know its hard to keep up to date (especially when the technology issues makes it hard) and I’m sure it feels good to be caught up! We’re appreciating your updates and praying for you!

    • Aaron permalink*
      March 24, 2011 10:56 pm

      Thanks Tina! Missing everyone back home but glad to have so many suporters.

  2. Rob Murphy permalink
    March 25, 2011 8:39 am

    Those are some lavish accommodations as compared to the 6-man in the Mighty USS CARON DD-970… Probably smells better too!

    Stay safe shipmate! You are really amazing.

    Murph

    • Aaron permalink*
      March 26, 2011 12:53 pm

      Hey Murph–

      Thanks for the kind words! You know I always thought you were far superior. I still have nightmares about that 6-man sometimes. You moved out for a little bit and then got pushed right back in or worse the MS/SK bunkroom where they stayed up all night while you were on port/starboard duty. While at least Davey Jones helped with some of the garbage left by others in the 6 man :). Hope to see you this summer.

Leave a Reply

