Skip to content

Sunday–Sirikwa, recovering from sickness

April 1, 2011

Many apologies I just realized that this post auto-published before it was done. So unfortunately some of you received this by email before it was ready. Ah, the joys of navigating the internet connections in Africa. Surprisingly the connection here in Cape Town is worse than Johannesburg (Jo-burg as the locals call it) or Eldoret. It’s fascinating to me that in a big city like Cape Town that the internet is so hit and miss. (I will be posting about why I’m in South Africa soon I promise–I have posted some pictures on FB if you can’t wait).

In any event, this post is really about last Sunday in Eldoret. I had the pleasure of attending Sirikwa Pentecostal Church. I went with one of the Peds ED attendings Rose House who attends College Park in Indy. It always nice to have someone help you find a place to attend church especially when you are a new mzungu in town. (You can check out Rose’s blog by clicking they link on her name). Rose’s church is very involved with the new ABWE mission hospital in Togo. Readers of the blog may recall that Ginnie & I served there in 2010. Rose is heading to Togo next week. I’m excited to see what blessings the Lord brings.

The church service was very good. The sermon was a discussion on the ten commandments in particular lust and what happened with David, and how he violated more than one commandment with his actions. I took several videos of the worship and communion time. I know Matthews would have liked the Swahili video clip that I had. But the acoustics were so bad that the camera he lent me picked up a ton of reverb. So despite my best audio manipulations (which are very many), I won’t be able to post that clip. But two of the communion clips (unfortunately in English) were okay. So I’ll post them.

It was great to be among the Kenyans. Even though we were the only two white people there, I still felt welcome. The rest of the day was spent showing some pictures of Togo to Rose and thinking about whether or not I should come down to South Africa. In the end I did decide to come, and I will talk about why in the next post.

This past Sunday, I was also grateful that I recovered from the cold/flu that was running around Eldoret. It wiped me out. I couldn’t understand why I was tired and achy for days in a row. I would often come back from work and go to bed by 9 pm and sleep until 6AM the next morning. Thankfully, I’m on the mend.

I do have one special prayer request:

For Cindy–a missionary from our church in Indy, who recently wrote that she is being forced to leave Pakistan likely permanently after spending decades there serving the Afghan refugees.

–I can only imagine how hard this will be for Cindy to leave after all her service. Apparently the climate towards Christians serving Afghans in Pakistan is worsening daily. She writes in here last update–

“I choose to believe this promise of God: Luke 11:13 If you then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children (and I know how much my parents love me!), how much more will your Father in heaven give the Holy Spirit to those who ask him!”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

